Etiquette 101

Formal Thank You Notes: The Lost Art

A brief stint as an etiquette teacher during high school and a lifetime living in the South with my fabulous mother left me with some habits that I would like to share.  I am no expert in the art of etiquette, but I like to think I am.

There comes a time in every child’s life when their parents stop hounding them to write their thank you notes after a holiday or their birthday; they stop emphasizing the value of honoring this timeless tradition.  Expressing gratitude in a heartfelt, handwritten letter on crisp, plain piece of monogrammed or simply decorated stationary has such an effect on its recipient, that I believe this tradition should live on.  However, I have some strong suggestions.

  1. Pick a stationary that you LOVE because you will be spending a lot of time looking at it, so it will stave off the impending boredom.
  2. Any card bearing the words “Thank You” should immediately be overlooked. Save those for you best friends. Rather, find a plain card decorated simply with your initials, name, or small decoration in order to give emphasis to the words written by YOU that come from YOUR heart.
  3. Do not write the same message replacing the thing you’re thankful for in each card. Your hand will cramp and you will be resentful rather than thankful by the end! Add a personal tidbit of information that will make the recipient feel loved.
  4. Do. Not. Type.

Here are examples from some of my favorites:

Crane & Co.

Paper Source

Rifle Paper Co.

Leave a comment